I am sorry I didn’t beat cancer

Uzmay reflects on being a competitive person confronting a disease that cares nothing about personal attributes, her own evolving attitude toward a #metastatic breast cancer diagnosis and finally the realization that her voice and story can have a profound effect on others.

Left Boob Gone Rogue

Yep, sorry, my apologies, with a diagnosis of metastasis four months ago , I didn’t beat cancer.

Every one said, “You are going to beat it”, some said, “If anyone can, you can!!”. They cheered me on as I endured one treatment after another and I kept fighting “like a girl”. I was told I will kick cancer’s ass and will show cancer who is the boss. I rode the wave of positivity and determination. I believed that I will beat it too. I thrived on the fantasy of the cancer submitting to my will and strength.

Songs, inspirational quotes, memes, greeting cards and stories, all led to me to the one end point, “beating cancer”. Being very much a type A personality, I accepted the challenge, I said to myself “I will beat cancer”. Except for one open book exam, I have hardly failed at something in life. So…

View original post 1,000 more words

Leave a Reply

