Survey Says: Metastatic Breast Cancer Can Be a Lonely Experience

Unfortunately, people with metastatic breast cancer often represent an uncomfortable reality for others…

MBCNbuzz

By Katherine O’Brien, MBCN Secretary

“Jennie” was diagnosed with a metastatic recurrence a dozen years after being treated for early stage breast cancer. “What a shock,” she wrote on a discussion board for people living with metastatic disease. “But some people’s reaction has been even more of a shock.”

She described what happened when she contacted a group that hosts exercise programs for breast cancer survivors. “When I explained that I was interested but that I was currently in treatment for liver and bone metastasis, I was invited to participate but it was suggested that maybe I shouldn’t share my current diagnosis.”

Jennie says her family and close friends have been supportive, “but it is different than I was diagnosed in 2001. . .I must say I came away [from the exercise group] feeling totally unwelcome and wondering if this is the experience of others.”

 Novartis’ recent survey of…

View original post 589 more words

Leave a Reply

