Hey Disruptive Breast Cancer Bloggers: Win a Major Award!

Thanks,  Anna Rachnel at The Cancer Culture Chronicles, for the inspiration!

Do you put the “she”  in “banshee”? Are you a disruptive force in the breast cancer blogging universe? Are you a co-blogger  (someone who reads or is featured in blogs)?  You could win a Major Award*!

We here at the I Hate Breast Cancer Foundation are pleased to introduce the first annual  MAAM (Metsters And/Or  Also Mammogramatically Challenged) of the Year Awards. As a global leader in truth, justice and the metastatic way, the IHBC Foundation is pleased to recognize the few, the proud and the very loud breast cancer bloggers.

Please describe in three paragraphs  or less why you or someone you know should be the 2011 MAAM of the Year. Include a link to a blog entry that you feel best demonstrates your disruptiveness.

You don’t have to be Jewish to love Levy’s rye bread and you don’t have to have mets to be the MAAM of the Year.

Eligibility requirements are pretty lax. Enter today!

Post your entry in the comments.  The winner(s) will be named on Monday, May 9. And remember… no wagering please!

*Something FRAGILE! (Actually probably just something from a trade show.)

Tagged , , ,

19 thoughts on “Hey Disruptive Breast Cancer Bloggers: Win a Major Award!

  1. Jody Schoger says:

    This is hilarious. Thanks for making my day. I’m rarely laughing out loud at 6 am but you really got me going!
    Jody

  2. Anna says:

    Dear IHBCF,

    I would like to nominate myself for this prestigious award. Not only am I mammographically challenged, but I’m also tumorriffic and quite often colonically challenged as well! I also have a terminal case of Snarkomania.

    Also I will still be alive on May 9 barring no major treatment side-effects like pericardial effusions or similar, so I will be available for a photo to bring more publicity in for IHBCF.

    I hope there’s a criteria for scars as well, because I have many of which I’m particularly proud. I think they aptly demonstrate my global spirit of surviving mutilating surgeries and rebuilding body parts not nearly as good as before.

    Hope to hear from you soon,

    Yours cancerously,

    Anna

  3. Being Sarah says:

    Anna you beat me to it! I have to nominate you for this award…. what can I say, three paragraphs is nowhere near enough to describe your snark, wit, spit, fire and feisty spirit. Your blog posts make me laugh out loud, make me shout out to my computer screen saying ‘YES, YES!’ and also get me thinking… You have so eloquently revealed to us the world of Stage IV breast cancer, and are continually breaking, no that should be SMASHING, the myth of the pink popular culture of the breast cancer world. Thank you.

    PS, I loved this post….
    http://cancerculturenow.blogspot.com/2010/11/is-cancer-new-normal.html

  4. nancyspoint says:

    Katherine,

    Hilarious. And some people say we have no sense of humor! Hands down, the award should go to Anna, because, well she summed up all the reasons herself actually! Who can compete with that? ha.

    Thanks for giving me a hearty laugh today!!

  5. This is an awesome idea, Katherine! I anticipate reading many creative entries. Surely the foundation will give booby prizes, right?

    • katherinembc says:

      Dr. Schattner, our foundation is built on support: We are the Jane Russell of breast cancer non-profits! So yes, there are booby prizes. Already the tension is building. Many aspire but few attain. Who will be MAAM of the Year? Stay tuned!

  6. Katie says:

    Ms IHBCETMK,

    I think my qualifications are best encapsulated by a comment I received today on my blog. As you may remember, I mentioned you and three other people who have stage IV cancer as inspirations to demand changes hard realities of breast cancer. I also mentioned two who died. I received this response:

    I have a question. You say you want respectful discussion but do you require that of yourself? I realize that when there are opposing views involved its difficult to keep it sweet but your tone regarding organizations you don’t support seem really disrespectful and sarcastic. With all due respect to you, your bashing of the same organization(s) is now bordering on obsessive. I’m wondering if there isn’t something more deep-rooted and personal here? Wouldn’t it be better to spend less time attacking and more time just focusing on the work you respect and think is important. Life is too short for negativity. It’s not like these organizations have bad or evil intent, they’re out in the world trying to do good whether or not Katie agrees with their mission. Your tagline is “making peace with breast cancer” and it seems like you’re busier waging wars. An example here on todays post, you use a seemingly lovely post about a great cause but insert jab at another person/org yet again. It would have been fantastic otherwise and I would have felt uplifted but I walked away feeling awful in spite of the subsequent positivity. Couldn’t you just leave it on the positive side? Just my open respectful observation… I don’t want to tell you how to write or what to write, this is your blog of course, I wanted to let you know that I’m teetering on the edge of departure.
    Sincerely,
    Dawn (who is both a fan of your blog AND a fan of the work Feel Your Boobies and the like does)

    Isn’t it nice the way she cares about my emotional health?

    I feel really guilty that my negativity ruined her chance to feel uplifted by a post about people who have died and people with (currently) incurable disease.

    So if you have an award for “Buzz Kill” I think I deserve it.

    Katie

  7. Kathi says:

    BAHAHAH!! Oh, my…so much snark, so little time. It’s just so difficult to pick only one post…I do want to point out though that I did recently appoint myself the Queen of Snark & here’s the photo to prove it:

    The Queen of Snark…because somebody’s got to do it.

    I like to think that I’m snarky all the time — I do endeavor to be — but here’s a recent post that exemplifies the many facets of snarkiness I try always to express.

    What’s In A Name

    Love,
    Your Sister in Snark,
    The Accidental Amazon

  8. Bethany says:

    ^^^^ I nominate Ms. Kathi! ^^^^

    http://accidentalamazon.com/

    Informative, funny beyond words and just the most beautiful person, evah!

  9. Stacey says:

    Katherine, this is a tough call. So many wonderfully snarky bloggers, so little awards. I love you all, but I have to vote for Anna for all the reasons she and the others here have stated. She never fails to amaze me with her ability to get the point across so intelligently, so masterfully, so freaking funny and poignant all at the same time. Love this one http://cancerculturenow.blogspot.com/2011/02/pink-town.html

    Good luck and remember, it’s an honor just to be nominated.

  10. Katie says:

    Stacey,

    Is that true even if you nominate yourself?

    😉

    Katie

  11. Kathi says:

    BAHAHAHAH, Elaine! I’d be honored to receive a ‘booby’ prize!! No matter who wins, can we all get together & have a snark party??

  12. Alas, I cannot compete for snark, but I can loudmouth! Trying to get IN-YOUR-FACE the main stream. Anna, you are my inspiration, I’m sure nobody does it like you but I’d better read all these links to be sure! Here’s my submission for the booby prize: http://www.everydayhealth.com/blogs/thriving-after-inflammatory-breast-cancer/susan-komen-shame-on-you
    I just want in on the snark party can I can I please
    getting progressively more disruptive on http://www.theliberationofpersephone.com

  13. […] Hey, Disruptive Cancer Bloggers! […]

  14. P.S. Thanks for the best belly laughs ever. It’s a hard one but I still nominate Anna! Kathi a close second….more? more?

    I think you should extend the contest!

  15. Ann says:

    Why me, of course. I’ve been joking about being boobless and bald for two years now.

    Since I’m a bit down about Carcinista, I am not going to make jokes. But, you can read my blog here:

    http://www.butdoctorihatepink.com.

  16. […] recently voted our favourite disruptive breast cancer blogger, Anna Rachnel at The Cancer Culture Chronicles, writes: “Imagine if we acknowledged the truth […]

  17. I got my fabulous prize package a few days ago. I have to say, that the items in this package were among the best prizes I have ever one. It was a scary day for me, the day I was told I had probably liver mets, and I came home to find the odd box on my doorstep. I smiled as I opened it. I’m so glad I nominated myself. LOL. 🙂

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

