Breast Cancer Awareness Month: Staying Positive

Here's a video response to some Breast Cancer Awareness coverage

Here’s a video response to some Breast Cancer Awareness coverage

Breast Cancer Awareness month can be a difficult month for those living we metastatic breast cancer.  As MBCN President Shirley Mertz recently said: “We need cures for breast cancer — that is the message. A lot of [people] today think, ‘Well, if I get breast cancer it will be just a bump in road. I’ll get treatment, it will be ugly, then I’ll celebrate as a survivor.’ But, for people with metastatic disease, it’s like getting all four tires flattened. They’ll never be out of treatment.”

Here’s a video response to recent Breast Cancer Awareness Month coverage.

10 thoughts on “Breast Cancer Awareness Month: Staying Positive

  1. Maybe this needs to start with oncologists. My onco told me I was “cured” when i finished treatment for stage III. (even though, as a health professional I knew better and I knew that I would always have a 30% chance of recurrence)

    There’s no way the mainstream media will ever get your message because they are only reporting on what people want to see….even if it is total bull. (but I applaud your attempt to try)

    I will now and forever continue to support the MBC message wherever I can.

  2. Linda says:

    Almost unimaginable that the station responded in that ridiculous manner. Thank you for turning your experience into a wonderful teaching moment.

  3. Fabulous video message to raise the awareness of the general public!
    I’ve posted this to my own FB page (and those of many others) with this message:

    I ask you to do one thing in October for REAL Breast Cancer Awareness – in fact, of every kind of cancer. Please take just 4 mins to watch this video.. And when you see PINK, Think of the more than 30 beautiful women with whom I’ve worked, loved, and lost to cancer – as well as my aunt. Support metastatic cancer research to give a shot to the ones still here who hope to stay alive long enough for “the cure”…

  4. Talk about getting swept under the rug! Thanks for your video; it was entertaining as much as inflaming!

  5. Laughter… and tears.

  6. I’m really appalled and would love to see the whole chain of correspondence. How dare any TV station tell a metster in which way she should deal with cancer? Having liver mets, I know that nobody can understand what it’s like unless you experience it. It’s unimaginable that anybody would write a letter like that. You will never find anybody more “positive” about their cancer than I have been and yet decline is my fate. It’s not a choice, plain and simple. I really think you should post your letter and the full letter and let us educate that station – at least “out” their insensitivity.

  7. Laurie says:

    Just wrote a blog post about this and linked to your blog and video. THANK YOU for all you do – and for being a consistent voice of sanity in this pink ribbon craziness.

  8. Brilliant video, Katherine. I’m sickened by the station’s response to you, though I’m not sure I’m surprised. They should be ashamed of themselves for responding to you in this way!
    It’s no wonder pinktober is what it is with attitudes like this one at the helm of news organizations.

  9. […] did not realize that most Breast Cancer Awareness Month coverage focuses almost exclusively on those with early stage disease. People are either afraid or our reality or prefer to ignore it in favor of  […]

  10. […] did not realize that most Breast Cancer Awareness Month coverage focuses almost exclusively on those with early stage disease. People are either afraid or our reality or prefer to ignore it in favor of  “feel-good” […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,208 other followers

